J4450: Media Mogul

27 Nov

I can’t say I flirted with, but I’ve definitely fantasized about, the job Kellie Kotraba has at ColumbiaFAVS.com.

She’s the editor at the religious media outlet. Now, I’m not interested in religion reporting, but part of me is interested in what she does for Columbia Faith and Values. A few weeks ago in lecture, she showed us some of her efforts. She covers events, writes stories, takes pictures, creates audio pieces for KBIA (Mizzou’s NPR affiliate), and manages the website.

I tend to think of myself mostly as a writer and reporter — someone who finds information and puts it in print/online. But I think being an editor of a small outlet like the one Kotraba runs could be cool.

She said she had a lot to do because the staff for the site is small. Part of me likes small staffs, though. When I worked at the Chieftain this past summer, I was one of four reporters (two full-times, another intern and me) that covered everything in Socorro, Magdalena and the surrounding area. And a quite a bit of shenanigans happened in that part of the country, let me tell you.

(It was quite the shock coming from that newsroom to the Missourian newsroom that has, what, about 100 reporters this semester. Plus, there’s more than 20 on my beat alone.)

Anyway, the point is I think her job is cool and part of me thinks being the main content producer for a small media outlet would be cool.

Leave a comment