J4450: Election Day!

6 Nov

Remember what the plan was for this morning? Well, it didn’t really work out that way. Here’s what really happened:

  • 5:18 a.m. I woke up and realized I had 12 minutes until the alarm I set last night would go off; I promptly fell back asleep.
  • 5:59 a.m. Very groggily, I woke up for the second time and thought, “What the hell happened to my alarm?”
  • 6:37 a.m. I was finally out the door after nearly 40 minutes of making coffee, drinking coffee, drinking more coffee, brushing my tooth, drinking more coffee and lamenting that I couldn’t drink more coffee; oh yeah, I also got dressed and made myself presentable.
  • 6:42 a.m. I made it to the polling place at Grace Bible Church.
  • 6:54 a.m. I turned in my ballot; “FIRST TIME VOTING IN THE PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION!” is what was running through my mind.
  • 7:00 a.m. My regular alarm on my phone went off while I was sitting in my car preparing to go talk to voters 25 feet from the church’s entrance; I then checked the alarm I set last night and it read “5:30 PM.” …Yeah.
  • 8:30 a.m. I finish talking to voters who are exiting the church; I contributed to this collection of voter vignettes (you can control-F my name) and this collection of voter quotes (do the same for Grace Bible Church).
  • 10:20 a.m. I submitted my quotes and vignette.

Lesson learned: double-check that the alarm reads “AM” and not “PM.”

One Response to “J4450: Election Day!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. J4450: Mr. Smooth « Behind Blue Skies - November 7, 2012

    […] for the reporting I did yesterday for the Missourian’s election coverage, I struck up a conversation with the volunteer I did the vignette on about an hour and a half […]

Leave a comment